Skip to content

Etsy Weddings

May 1, 2012

The Etsy Wedding category has been completely redesigned and just launched a couple of days ago. If you’ve ever tried to search Etsy for a specific style, artist or trend, you’ll know how difficult it can be to find exactly what you’re looking for among the thousands of listings in each category. Hopefully the new wedding category will make it easier for shoppers to find what they’re looking for. Certainly it is more eye-catching and interactive.

Etsy Weddings

Etsy has this to say about the new category:

Etsy Weddings is a new browsing experience that includes wedding items, trends, how-to’s, expert advice and the stories of real couples — all in one place. A wide variety of items are featured and will change frequently to represent trends in the Etsy marketplace and beyond. Items can appear alongside real weddings stories, collections from guest curators, and advice for those planning their big day. Etsy Weddings will replace our previous weddings category pages.

Since the bulk of my Etsy work is commissioned engagement and wedding rings, I am hoping that I will not get lost in the crowd. I’m off to a good start by being featured in the Woodland Trends category, within the Rings section. “Woodland” is a category tag that always cracks me up because it sounds so silly. But among the dozens of slightly absurd, preloaded, available tags in the Etsy listing process (Abstract, Asian, Bohemian, Burlesque, Hippie, Nautical, Rocker, Spooky, Zen, etc. etc.), it is one that usually seems fitting for my work, which is so often based on natural forms. (Still, sometimes when I am choosing Woodland as a tag, I am imagining fauns and gnomes skipping across the forest floor…ha!).

Here’s a screen shot of the Woodland category, with a big pic of my Rose Gold and Morganite ring in the second row, on the right:

Etsy Weddings Woodland Trends

Thanks, Etsy! That is one of my favorite rings in my shop. I’ve made a few so far, and have stones on hand to make two more. Since the morganite in this ring is a big stone, and since I’m picky about cut and color, stones I like are hard to find. When I do, I snap up as many as I can at a time, but last time I was shopping for morganite, I only found four that fit the bill. I used two for custom rings, and have two left. One is a very pale pink and one is a brighter pink. (Interesting fact about this stone: morganite actually looks more and more pink the larger the stone gets. Small morganites look almost colorless,but the bigger they get, the pinker they look). The morganite looks amazing in this rose gold setting, which is pretty pink itself and really brings out the color of the stone.

Rose Gold and Morganite Twig Ring© 2012 Sarah Hood, Rose Gold and Morganite Twig Ring. Sterling silver, rose gold, morganite.

More fun facts about this stone: Morganite is a beautiful stone in the beryl family, which also includes emerald and aquamarine. Morganite is sometimes known as “pink emerald.” Pure beryl is actually colorless, but the natural intercalation (SAT word!) of beryl with other foreign elements and metals such as iron, manganese and chrome cause beryl to turn colors. Morganite was found off the coast of Madagascar in 1910 and was named after financier J.P. Morgan.

To see the stones I have in stock or to design a ring from scratch with one of the hundreds (yes, I’m a stone hoarder) of stones I have on hand, you can contact me here!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

